When static data becomes an interactive experience in the web

The designing and programming of the interactive graphics for the ERA Portal Austria

For the platform ERA Portal Austria, we developed an interactive graphic on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research and the project participant Zentrum für Soziale Innovation GmbH, which visualises different number dimensions in a quick and clear way and guides the user through different levels with intuitive user guidance.

It all started with data in an Excel spreadsheet. The challenge was to present the extensive key figures as well as the different programme areas in such a way that a clear allocation and an appealing data visualisation could be created for the users.

Therefore, the first step of the process was to work out how to present the data visually. In order to be able to subdivide the complexity of the different funding sources with the corresponding programme areas in a comprehensible way, the graphic was divided into 3 dimensions or levels and uses a pie chart in its basic form, which provides further information via mouse-over.

By clicking or touching, users can intuitively move through the different levels, which reveal more and more information on the corresponding topic. The prominent back button provides orientation to playfully switch between the dimensions. The colour palette forms a visual bracket for the affiliation of information to the corresponding thematic field.

For the technical realisation of this project, we made use of the JavaScript library D3.js, which was our preferred choice due to its ability to »manipulate« documents based on data. Together with our cooperation partner »Syntop - Studio for Interaction and Information Design« and the powerful Data-Driven Documents library (D3), the numbers/data were translated into a visual environment of a pie chart through mathematical calculations.

Through user-centred interaction design, creation and technology merged in such a way that data standing still in the background alone became an interactive data visualisation with an exciting user experience in the foreground. Thus, data is not only something for the head but also something for the eye!

We are therefore looking forward to further projects of this kind in the future!

https://era.gv.at/horizon-europe/budget/

    Leistungen
  • Web Design UI/UX (User Interface und User Experience Design)
  • Frontend and Backend Development
Contact Person
Andreas Huthwelker
Managing Director
Chief Digital Officer
Write us an email
    Partners
  • SYNTOP Studio for Interaction and Information Design
    Development
Next Project

Wenn statische Daten zu einem interaktiven Erlebnis im Web werden

Die Gestaltung und Programmierung der interaktiven Grafik für das ERA Portal Austria

Für die Plattform ERA Portal Austria entwickelten wir im Auftrag des Bundesministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Forschung sowie dem Projektnehmer Zentrum für Soziale Innovation GmbH eine interaktive Grafik, die auf schnelle und übersichtliche Art verschiedene Zahlendimensionen verständlich visualisiert und durch intuitive Benutzerführung durch verschiedene Ebenen führt.

Begonnen hat alles mit Daten in einer Excel Tabelle. Die Herausforderung dabei war, die umfangreichen Kennzahlen sowie unterschiedlichen Programmbereiche so darzustellen, dass für die UserInnen eine klare Zuordnung und eine ansprechende Datenvisualisierung entstehen konnte.

Im ersten Schritt des Prozesses wurde daher die Art und Weise der visuellen Darstellungsform erarbeitet. Um die Komplexität der verschiedenen Finanzierungsquellen mit den entsprechenden Programmbereichen verständlich unterteilen zu können, wurde die Grafik in 3 Dimensionen bzw. Ebenen aufgeteilt und bedient sich in der Grundform eines Tortendiagramms, das per Mouse-Over weitere Informationen zur Verfügung stellt.

Per Klick bzw. Touch können sich so UserInnen intuitiv durch die verschiedenen Ebenen bewegen, die immer mehr Informationen zum entsprechenden Themenfeld preisgeben. Der prominente Zurück-Button sorgt für Orientierung, um spielerisch zwischen den Dimensionen zu wechseln. Die Farbpalette bildet eine visuelle Klammer für die Zugehörigkeit von Informationen zum entsprechenden Themenfeld.

Für die technische Realisierung dieses Projekts machten wir uns die JavaScript-Bibliothek D3.js zu Nutze, welche aufgrund ihrer Fähigkeit zur »Manipulation« von Dokumenten auf Basis von Daten unsere bevorzugte Wahl war. Gemeinsam mit unserem Kooperationspartner »Syntop – Studio für Interaktions- und Informationsdesign« und der mächtigen Data-Driven Documents-Bibliothek (D3) wurden die Zahlen/Daten durch mathematische Berechnungen in eine visuelle Umgebung eines Tortendiagramms übersetzt.

Durch nutzerzentriertes Interaktionsdesign verschmelzten Kreation und Technik so miteinander, dass allein still stehende Daten im Hintergrund zu einer interaktiven Datenvisualisierung mit spannender User-Experience im Vordergrund wurden. Somit sind Daten nicht nur etwas für den Kopf sondern genauso auch etwas für das Auge!

Daher freuen wir uns auf weitere Projekte solcher Art in Zukunft!

https://era.gv.at/horizon-europe/budget/

    Leistungen
  • Webdesign UI/UX (User Interface und User Experience Design)
  • Frontend und Backend Development
Ansprechpartner/-in
Andreas Huthwelker
Geschäftsführer
Lead Strategieberater
E-Mail
schreiben
    Partner/-innen
  • SYNTOP Studio for Interaction and Information Design
    Development
Weitere Projekte