User-oriented Digital Communication of Compliance Content

Monitoring of a study by the ZHAW Zurich University of Applied Sciences

The ZHAW School of Management and Law (SML) is one of the leading educational institutions for business and business law in Switzerland. All programs are scientifically sound, interdisciplinary, and practice-oriented.

In an explorative case study, we worked with the ZHAW and AGON PARTNERS to examine what small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) expect from digital user-oriented communication of compliance content.

    Leistungen
  • Preparation of a Study
  • Information Graphic
  • User Research
Stakeholder*innen in Compliance-Systemen

Summary of the Study Results

While proper compliance lays the foundation for the sustainable and professional development of an organization, digitization creates the opportunity to communicate compliance issues much more directly and sustainably within responsible organizations and their stakeholder groups than was previously possible. Instead of a “compliance for all”, content can be personalised and communicated with reference to the respective needs and requirements of users.

Approach

The study focused on the needs of organisations and their stakeholder groups with regard to the presentation and use of compliance content in digital communication channels, but not on the content itself. The data on which the study is based were obtained in interviews with compliance experts and users and in a design thinking workshop with selected compliance experts.

It became apparent that the greatest challenge of user-oriented digital communication of compliance content is the constantly necessary industry-specific, socio-cultural and user-oriented translation of the constantly updated compliance content. The main reasons for this are the diversity of stakeholders within a digital compliance system and their different personal, industry-specific and structural needs.

Übersetzung von Compliance-Inhalten

Solution Levels

The following three levels of solution could be derived from the findings:

  1. The involvement of the industry associations in the development of a digital compliance solution for small and medium-sized organisations allows the digital compliance content to be adapted to the respective industry-specific needs.
  2. The integration of the automated industry-specific and socio-cultural translation performance of the content used in the digital compliance system creates the necessary economic added value for the system to be accepted by small and medium-sized organisations.
  3. Compliance content must be able to be developed integratively and iteratively within an organisation. A digital compliance system must therefore allow innovation and feedback loops.
Ansprechpartner/-in
Christian Schlimok
Geschäftsführer
Director Strategy Consulting
E-Mail
schreiben
    Partner/-innen
  • AGON PARTNERS
    Prof. Dr. Patrick L. Krauskopf
Weitere Projekte

Nutzerorientierte digitale Kommunikation von Compliance-Inhalten

Begleitung einer Studie der ZHAW Zürcher Hochschule Für Angewandte Wissenschaften

Die School of Management and Law (SML) der ZHAW zählt zu den führenden Bildungsinstitutionen für Wirtschaft und Wirtschaftsrecht in der Schweiz. Alle Programme sind wissenschaftlich fundiert, interdisziplinär und praxisorientiert.

Im Rahmen einer explorativen Fallstudie untersuchten wir gemeinsam mit der ZHAW und AGON PARTNERS, was die Erwartungen kleinerer und mittlerer Unternehmen (KMUs), an eine digitale nutzerorientierte Kommunikation von Compliance-Inhalten sind.

    Leistungen
  • Erstellung einer Studie
  • Informationsgrafik
  • User Research
Stakeholder*innen in Compliance-Systemen

Zusammenfassung der Studienergebnisse

Während die richtige Compliance die Basis für eine nachhaltige und professionelle Entwicklung einer Organisation legt, schafft die Digitalisierung die Möglichkeit, die Fragestellungen der Compliance viel direkter und nachhaltiger innerhalb verantwortungsvoller Organisationen und deren Stakeholdergruppen zu kommunizieren, als dies bislang möglich war. Anstelle einer »Compliance für alle« können Inhalte personalisiert und mit Bezug auf die jeweiligen Bedürfnisse und Anforderungen der NutzerInnen vermittelt werden.

Herangehensweise

Im Mittelpunkt der Studie standen die Bedürfnisse der Organisationen und ihrer Stakeholdergruppen im Hinblick auf die Präsentation und Nutzung von Compliance-Inhalten in digitalen Kommunikationskanälen, nicht aber die Inhalte selbst. Die der Studie zugrunde liegenden Daten wurden in Interviews mit Compliance-Expert*innen und -Anwender*innen sowie einem Design-Thinking-Workshop mit ausgewählten Compliance-Expert*innen gewonnen.

Dabei zeigte sich, dass die grösste Herausforderung einer nutzerorientierten digitalen Kommunikation von Compliance-Inhalten die stetig notwendige branchenspezifische, soziokulturelle und nutzerorientierte Übersetzung der sich laufend aktualisierenden Compliance-Inhalte ist. Die Hauptgründe dafür sind die Diversität der Stakeholder*innen innerhalb eines digitalen Compliance-Systems und deren unterschiedliche persönliche, branchenspezifische und strukturelle Bedürfnisse.

Übersetzung von Compliance-Inhalten

Lösungsebenen

Aus den Erkenntnisen konnten die folgenden drei Lösungsebenen abgeleitet werden:

1. Lösungsebene: Die Einbindung der Branchenverbände in die Entwicklung einer digitalen Compliance-Lösung für kleinere und mittlere Organisationen erlaubt es, die digitalen Compliance-Inhalte an die jeweiligen branchenspezifischen Bedürfnisse anzupassen.

2. Lösungsebene: Die Integration der automatisierten branchenspezifischen und soziokulturellen Übersetzungsleistung der im digitalen Compliance-System genutzten Inhalte schafft den notwendigen ökonomischen Mehrwert, dass das System von kleineren und mittleren Organisationen angenommen wird.

3. Lösungsebene: Compliance-Inhalte müssen innerhalb einer Organisation integrativ und iterativ weiterentwickelt werden können. Ein digitales Compliance-System muss also Innovations- und Feedback-Schleifen zulassen.

Ansprechpartner/-in
Christian Schlimok
Geschäftsführer
Lead Strategieberater
E-Mail
schreiben
    Partner/-innen
  • AGON PARTNERS
    Prof. Dr. Patrick L. Krauskopf
Weitere Projekte