Service Design for Students

Website Relaunch of the HWR Berlin

The Berlin School of Economics and Law stands for a pronounced practical orientation, intensive and diverse research, high quality standards and a strong international focus. It has five departments and two central institutes.

The aim of the extensive technical, content and design relaunch of the website, which we helped to implement, was primarily to support student marketing and the study information process, which is mapped via the website.

    Leistungen
  • Frontend Development
  • Service Design
  • User Experience Design
  • User Interface Design
Startseite der Website

The project was divided into different phases. A content audit was used to record the complex contents of the previous website and a concept for the transfer to the new website format was created. Stakeholder analyses, the development of personas and user-journey maps, which are based on the information process of students, provided important insights that form the basis for the UX strategy. In addition, wireframes were created along the defined click paths derived from web tracking analyses and the information architecture was finalized in the form of structure trees.

The user interface design (UI) works with the principle of offset, which is derived from the preceding HWR logo. In the UI design, this creates white spaces that are used for a clear layout composition. In order to test the animation behaviour of the design, simple prototypes were used in very early layout phases, which simulated the layout during interaction and movement and made it testable.

Special attention was paid to the design of the target group-specific distribution pages. For example, area entrances such as “Studium” were used for a dedicated target group approach and designed to be more communicative.

Special attention was also paid to the tabular presentation of the study courses with filter options. The responsive presentation of the table was a particular challenge for the UI design.

Webtrackings prove that the bounce rate and page impressions have improved significantly since the relaunch.

Website
Ansprechpartner/-in
Andreas Huthwelker
Geschäftsführer
Director Strategy Consulting
E-Mail
schreiben
    Partner/-innen
  • Jasmin Herkel
    UX/UI Design
  • Lu Nelson
    Frontend Architecture
  • DMK E-BUSINESS GmbH
    Technical implementation for TYPO3
Weitere Projekte

Service Design für Studierende

Website Relaunch der HWR Berlin

Die Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Recht Berlin steht für einen ausgeprägten Praxisbezug, intensive und vielfältige Forschung, hohe Qualitätsstandards sowie eine starke internationale Ausrichtung. Sie verfügt über fünf Fachbereiche und zwei Zentralinstitute.

Ziel des umfangreichen technischen, inhaltlichen und gestalterischen Relaunches der Website, den wir mitbegleitet haben, war vor allem die Unterstützung des Studierendenmarketings und des Studieninformationsprozess, der über die Website abgebildet wird.

    Leistungen
  • Frontend Development
  • Service Design
  • User Experience Design
  • User Interface Design
Startseite der Website

Das Projekt unterteilte sich in unterschiedliche Phasen. Über einen Content-Audit wurden die komplexen Inhalte der bisherigen Website erfasst und ein Konzept für die Übernahme in das neue Website-Format erstellt. Über Stackholder-Analysen, die Entwicklung von Personas und User-Journey-Maps, die sich am Informationsprozess von Studierenden orientieren, wurden wichtige Insights gesammelt, die die Basis für die UX-Strategie darstellen. Zudem wurden Wireframes entlang der definierten und aus Webtracking-Analysen abgeleiteten Klickpfaden erstellt und die Informationsarchitektur in Form von Strukturbäumen finalisiert.

Das User-Interface-Design (UI) arbeitet mit dem Prinzip des Versatzes, das sich aus dem vorangestellten HWR-Logo ableitet. Im UI-Design entstehen dadurch Weißräume, die für eine klare Layoutkompositon genutzt werden. Um das Animationsverhalten des Designs zu erproben, kamen in sehr frühen Layoutphasen einfache Prototypen zum Einsatz, die das Layout bei Interaktion und Bewegung simulierten und testbar machten.
Ein besonderes Augenmerk lag bei der Gestaltung auf den zielgruppenspezifischen Verteilerseiten. So wurden zum Beispiel Bereichseinstiege wie »Studium« für eine dedizierte Zielgruppenansprache genutzt und kommunikativer gestaltet.
Auch die tabellarischen Darstellung der Studiengänge mit Filtermöglichkeiten bekam besonderer Aufmerksamkeit. Dabei war speziell die responsive Darstellung der Tabelle eine Herausforderung für das UI-Design.
Webtrackings belegen, dass die Absprungrate und die Page-Impressions sich seit dem Relaunch signifikant verbessert haben.

Website
Ansprechpartner/-in
Andreas Huthwelker
Geschäftsführer
Lead Strategieberater
E-Mail
schreiben
    Partner/-innen
  • Jasmin Herkel
    UX/UI Design
  • Lu Nelson
    Frontend Architecture
  • DMK E-BUSINESS GmbH
    Technische Umsetzung für TYPO3
Weitere Projekte